

# **Scholarships**

# for the Post Graduate Master Programme 'Landscape Ecology and Nature Conservation (LENC)'

## Background

The international Master Programme 'Landscape Ecology and Nature Conservation (LENC)' has recently been selected for the DAAD scholarship programme 'Development-Related Postgraduate Courses - Educating Professionals for Sustainable Development'

From the next intake in October 2014 onwards yearly 8 full scholarships will be available for applicants from developing countries (see definition at DAAD-DAC list below).

### **Scholarship Grant Details**

Grants for Master's students can be awarded for up to a maximum of 24 months.

The grant includes:

- Monthly scholarship installment of 750,- EUR
- Home country dependent lump-rate travel allowance
- · Annually study and research subsidies, additional support for families
- Costs of insurance for health, accident and personal liability insurance in Germany
- Two-month German language course (in Germany)
- Additional DAAD services like network meetings and workshops

### **Entry Requirements**

- Bachelor of Sciences or a comparable degree with far above average results (upper third)
- 2 years of work experience in a public authority or a state or private company
- . The last academic degree should not be more than six years old

### Application

- Application form (LENC webpage http://www.botanik.uni-greifswald.de/msclenc/app\_01.html.)
- Curriculum vitae with photo (2 pages max.)
- Letter of motivation (2 pages max.)
- · Letter of recommendation from one academic/researcher of the applicant's choice
- Proof of good English language skills (TOEFL: 550/213/80; IELTS: 5.5)
- · Copies of academic degree certificates of an environmental-related discipline

>> Scholarship application deadline: February 15<sup>th</sup>, 2014

Applications have to be sent via e-mail to the LENC coordination office (see address below).

### Contact and Information

LENC Coordination Office Institute of Botany and Landscape Ecology Soldmannstr. 15 D-17489 Greifswald, Germany Mail: tiemo@uni-greifswald.de Tel: +49 3834 864112, Fax: +49 3834 864114

## **Further Information**

http://www.botanik.uni-greifswald.de/msclenc http://www.uni-flensburg.de/agep-info https://www.daad.de/pgc

#### List of developing countries 2011 - 2013 according to the Development Assistance Committee = DAC of the OECD

#### supported in the programme D"Postgraduate Courses for Professionals with Relevance to Developing Countries".

				validity 2011 - 2013	
En	twicklungsländer und -g	ebiete			
EUROPE	1			ASIA	East Asia
Albania	Eritrea	Sierra Leone	Cuba	Near and Middle East	China
Bosnion Horzogowina	Gabun	Zimbabwe	Mexico	Iraq	Indonesia
Croatia	The Gambia	Somalia	Montserrat	Iran	Cambodia
Macodonia	Ghana	St. Helena	Nicaragua	Yemen	Korea
Moldova, Rep.	Guinea	Sudan	Panama	Jordan	Laos
Montonogro-	Guinea-Bissau	South Africa	St. Kitts and Nevis	Lebanon	Malaysia
Serbia <sup>I</sup>	Cameroon	Southern Sudan (neu)	St. Lucia	Oman <sup>2</sup>	Mongolia
Turkey	Cape Verde	Swaziland	St. Vincent and	Palestinian territories	Philippines
Ukraine	Kenya	Tanzania	the Grenadines	Syria	Thailand
Belarus	Comoros	Togo	Trinidad und Tobago-	-	East Timor
	Congo	Chad	5	South and Central Asia	Vietnam
AFRICA	Congo, Dem. Rep.	Uganda	South America	Afghanistan	
North Africa	Lesotho	Central African Republic	Argentina	Armenia	OCEANIA
Egypt	Liberia		Bolivia	Azerbaijan	Cooki Oslands
Algeria	Madagascar	AMERICA	Brazil	Bangladesh	Fiji
Libya	Malawi	North and Central America	Chile	Bhutan	Kiribati
Morocco	Mali	Anguilla	Ecuador	Georgia	Marshall Islands
Tunisia	Mauritania	Antiqua and Barbuda	Guvana	India	Micronesia
	Mauritius	Barbados <sup>2</sup>	Columbia	Kazakhstan	Nauru
Sub-Saharan Africa	Mayotto	Belize	Paraguay	Kyrgyzstan	Niue
Angola	Mozambique	Costa Rica	Peru	The Maledives	Palau
Equatorial Guinea	Namibia	Dominica	Suriname	Myanmar	Papua New Guinea
Ethiopia	Niger	Dominican Republic	Uruquay	Nepal	Solomon Islands
Benin	Nigeria	El Salvador	Venezuela	Pakistan	Samoa
Botswana	Rwanda	Grenada		Sri Lanka	Tokelau
Burkina Faso	Zambia	Guatemala		Tadzhikistan	Tonga
Burundi	São Tomé and Principe	Haiti		Turkmenistan	Tuvalu
vory Coast (Côte d'Ivoire)	Senegal	Honduras		Uzbekistan	Vanuatu
Djibouti	Sevchelles	Jamaika			Wallis and Futuna

<sup>1</sup> including Kosovo

Source: OECD/DAC